competitions and prizes

Following are the winning projects in the project of the year competition, and the Emilio Ambasz award for green architecture:

Built Category

First place: Eran Mebel Architecture / Bazan oil refinery, visitors center, Haifa bay.

Second place: Schwartz Besnosoff Architects / Robert & Yadelle Sklare Library, Kinneret Academic College, Emek HaYarden.

Shared 3rd place: Yoav Messer Architects / Shneur Cheshin House, HaYarkon Park.

Shared 3rd place: Belzberg Architects / Holocaust Museum, Los Angeles.

Honorary Mention: Pitsou Kedem Architects / Urban Villa, 

Tel Aviv.

Honorary Mention: SO Architecture / Yad Lebanim, Nesher.

Landscape Category:

First place: Asif Berman, Noa Barot - Landscape Architects/ "City Park", Rager Boulevard Be'er Sheva. 

Second place: Braudo Maoz Landscape Architects, studio program 1 / Theme Park, Rishon Lezion.

Third place: Ishai Wilson Architecture/Netanya City Center. 

Interior Design Category:

First place: Architect Pitsou Kedem, Studio Baranowich - Amit / Taizu Asian Restaurant, Tel Aviv.

Second place: Paritzki & Liani Architects / Fervital | Antolini Gallery, Emek Hefer.

Pre-Built Category:

First place: Architect Nir Ben Natan/Israeli gesture to Japanese citizens.

Second place: Architects Yehuda Or-Naimi, Omri Rimon / Day-Care Center, Be'er Sheva.

Third place: Schwartz Besnosoff Architects / Check Point Building, Tel Aviv University.

Research Category:

First place: Dr. Anna Lobovikov-Katz / ELAICH: educational linkage approach to cultural heritage.

Second place: Architect Yonni Avidan M.Sc., Faculty of Architecture, Technion Haifa / Talking architecture: language, its place and roles in the architectural design process.

Third place: Architect Dr. Nora Huberman-Marriott, Ben-Gurion University of the Negev/Roof form as an energy saving function

Honorary Mention: Architect Dr. Eran Kaftan, Ben-Gurion University of the Negev / Integrating practical research into the design process.

Honorary Mention: Architect Daphna Drori, Architect Prof. Edna Shaviv / Computer-aided design tool for water efficient gardens and green open spaces.

Student Category:

First place: Einat Lubliner / Intervention in Yad Eliyahu.

Second place: Einat Lubliner, Orli Milik, Tal Mendola / Haifa Port, Rear Zone. 

Third place: Hani Osterman / "Air Purifier", Moshav Rinatia.

Artist Avital Geva won the Lifetime Achievement Award for visual art in 2013 from the Ministry of Culture and Sports. The award is given to artists over 55 in appreciation of their unique contribution to the advancement and enrichment of visual arts in Israel. Avital Geva is a conceptual artist who began working in the early seventies. After completing his studies at the Avni Institute, he abandoned painting and, influenced by Yitzhak Danziger, he became involved in several experimental projects. In 1972, along with fellow artists Moshe Gershoni, Micha Ullman, and Yehezkel Yardeni, he initiated an improvised library with thousands of books collected from recycling containers. During the early eighties, he devoted himself to “The Ecological Greenhouse” at Ein Shemer - a utopian project that began as an experimental lab for growing cucumbers, and which, in 1992, was exhibited at the Venice Biennale gaining international attention and extensive coverage.

The David Yanai Prize for excellence in academic education was awarded to ten professors at the Technion, among them Professor Dafna Fisher-Gewirtzman, Faculty of Architecture and Town Planning at the Technion. Congratulations +... Like.

Interior Designer Asher Elbaz won the competition to design a monument at the entrance to Rishon LeZion. Congratulations to you too, and Like.

The winners of the international competition for a solar tower at the thermal power station - “Ashalim” in Ramat HaNegev, were architects Eran Ziv and Yizhar Kedmi. Second place went to architect, Amir Malul, and third place - to architects Misha Breznak and Na’ama Blonder. Honorable Mention went to Tsamir Architects and Yael Oku Architects; as well as to Architects Ittai Palti and Jonathan Canetti. Student track winners were Uri Bleicher from WIZO, Haifa, Eyal Lantzman and Adi Frug from Bezalel, and Ido Shavit, 

Technion. The tower’s height is approximately 240 m.

Additional projects are published in issue 97

judging this year was undertaken by a balanced team of three international architects: Architect Prof. Scott Preston Cohen, Architect Prof. Benamy Turkienicz, and Architect Professor Tigran Haas – alongside three local architects - Architect Prof. Shraga Kirshner, Michal Kimmel Eshkolot, and Osvaldo Stav.

לימודי תואר ראשון  |   קורס חשמלאי מוסמך  |   קרלמן - רואי חשבון

בניית אתרי אינטרנט                                   (c) all rights resereved to architecture of israel quartley